So, this is the week I have been the most excited for.  Anyone who knows me knows that I love a good musical.  A movie with a musical number added is automatically made infinitely better. I might be the worst person to watch a musical with (because I happen to like to sing along), but I do have the best suggestions.  Here are 6 this week (I just couldn’t choose):

  1. Hairspray (2007)

hairspray

Zac.  Efron.  Need I say more? Set in Baltimore during the high point of the Separate, But Equal doctrine, a spunky, overweight girl fights for integration on her favorite TV show.  The dance numbers are great, the costumes are fantastic, and the wigs…can we just. Also, John Travolta plays a woman, so I mean….

  • Available to stream on HBO NOW

2. La La Land

la la land

There is not one bad thing I can say about this movie.  Ryan Gosling is very nice to look at, Emma Stone is seriously hilarious, and they tap.  The concept is completely different from anything anyone has ever done.  It’s a love story without really being a love story. I could go on and on about the costumes, the choreography, the cinematography, the casting, but I’ll spare you.  Just go watch it.

  • This one’s still in theaters so you have to wait a little

3. Les Misérables

les mis

Probably the saddest story (I mean, it literally translates to “The Miserable People,” so it’s understandable) ever written.  Long story short, a man steals a loaf of bread, spends 21 years in prison and then there’s the French Revolution and everyone dies.  Also, the entire thing is singing.  All of it.  It’s wonderful.

  • Available to rent/buy on Apple TV or Google Play

4. The Rocky Horror Picture Show

rocky horror

Wholesome kids Brad and Janet find themselves at a castle on a particularly rainy night where they meet Dr. Frank-N-Furter, a transvestite, Rocky Horror, a lab creation who wears fabulous gold lamé shorts, and a whole cast of odd characters.  It’s pretty weird and out there and the plot is a little all over the place and none of the songs make any kind of sense, but watch it, its a cult-classic.

  • Available to rent or buy on Apple TV or Amazon Prime

5. Newsies

newsies

I think if I could only watch one movie for the rest of my life, it’d be Newsies.  A young Christian Bale (whom you all know as Batman) stars as Jack Kelly, infamous newsboy and dancer extraordinaire.  The newsies go on strike and the rest is pretty much boys singing and dancing.  There really isn’t anything better, is there?

  • Available to stream on Hulu

6. Chicago

chicago

Chicago is full of iconic songs that you all have heard, but you have no idea where they come from (i.e. All That Jazz and Cell Block Tango).  Set in the 1920s, the whole plot of this movie is basically women kill men because men are inherently stupid (which is justifiable).  This one is very vaudeville-esque, all sequins and lights and drama and amazingness.  Also they put it on Netflix (finally) so watch it.

  • Available on Netflix
